Facebook Is Storing Numbers From Your Smart Phone

I recently reported that the hacker group Anonymous announced Facebook as its next target because of their repeated violations of privacy.

Well, now, Facebook users have a new privacy concern after its been discovered that the social network apparently stores a list of phone numbers belonging to your Facebook friends and, apparently, to contacts stored in the mobile device that you use to access Facebook’s mobile app.

According to The Washington Post, this Phonebook Contacts feature has been live for “a few years,” though many users are just noting its existence.

Your personal list, created from contacts stored in your mobile device, is accessible on your Facebook profile.

To view the list, go to the account tab in the upper-right-hand corner of your Facebook page, click “Edit Friends,” and then select Contacts from the sidebar menu all the way on the left-hand side of the page.

This list includes numbers from your cell phone that do not link to Facebook accounts. The appearance of these numbers suggests that Facebook is importing them from your mobile phonebook via the Facebook app.

Rumors quickly spread that these numbers could be viewed by other Facebook users.

However, Facebook insists your Facebook Phonebook Contacts are visible only to you.

PCWorld’s Dan Tynan claims that he’s not even friends with some of the Facebook users included in the list of numbers on his Facebook account.

“There are also people whom I do not know, who are not in my Android phone’s contact list, with whom I share no connection whatsoever and have no friends in common, who are in my Facebook phone book,” Tynan writes. (A Facebook spokesperson was not immediately available to comment.)

Facebook, posted a statement about the controversy on their page:

Rumors claiming that your phone contacts are visible to everyone on Facebook are false. Our Contacts list, formerly called Phonebook, has existed for a long time. The phone numbers listed there were either added by your friends themselves and made visible to you, or you have previously synced your phone contacts with Facebook. Just like on your phone, only you can see these numbers.

If you want to disable the contacts importer features, Facebook provides a link on the Contacts page that allows you to shut it off.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s